Clicky

Happy
Hi,

I'm new to geotagging and Houdah Geo.

I bought a Geotracking device called Networx iGeo which is distributed somehow exclusively via german Gravis stores.

This device was interesting because a license for HoudahGeo was included.

The device looks similar to a QStarz BT-1300 (very likely it is just sold with a different label).

I started two weeks ago after recording some tracks. The bluetooth connection was established quickly and after some problems with my macbook pros bluetooth device (needed to restart the mac) I could download the track file.

After that I took the device with me for a 5 day trip, making records of around 6-7 hours a day.

Back home I'm currently trying to download the trackfile, but I takes a very long time, currently almost 90 minutes and the HoudahGeo dialog doesn't even show any progress. (HoudahGeo 2.4.2, Snow Leopard 10.6.2)

In Mac Console I see the download was called at 21:14h, actually its 22:42h.
I tried before and got some read or write errors, but today the console output just contains the call:

18.02.10 21:14:11         HoudahGeo GE[337]         GPSController.m:471 /Applications/HoudahGeo GE.app/Contents/Resources/gpsbabel -w -t -i mtk -f /dev/cu.QstarzGPS-SPPslave -o gpx -F /var/folders/Vq/VqrdgTZjFimGzDqo1CtLQ++++TI/-Tmp-/875417A4-552D-42BC-A481-5A41B2FC1AC2-337-00000170E49D6319/886105-238759-749750-638629-694458-931732-291187.gpx

So my question:

Is my tracking device just a little piece of crap?

Or is such a long download time just usual?

Why don't I get any progress? (Houdah looks a little bit dead to me)

And why HoudahGeo doesn't at least create the file partially?

Thank in advance for bringing some ordr into my confusion!
H.
0 0
houdah
Hi!

From what I know, the iGeo is indeed a Qstarz BT-Q1300. I use the Qstarz regularly with no problems.