Clicky

Hybrid
Hello!

I'm a photographer and I have a lot of RAW files (Nikon NEF specifically). Often, keywords are written to .XMP sidecar files instead of to the RAW file itself. When I search for keywords, spotlight finds them within the XMP files but it has no idea about the original .NEF RAW file that the sidecar XMP file relates to.

Ideally I'd love to be able to search for a keyword in the XMP and have the search result return the RAW file. Only returning the XMP file isn't much use, especially if I want to preview or open the RAW file directly...

Is it possible to somehow link the XMP result to a NEF file? Or get Spotlight to apply keywords from the .XMP file to the associated .NEF file? Does Spotlight need an importer for the XMP data?

This seems like such a core feature but so far I haven't had any luck... Only formats like JPEG/TIFF etc work because the XMP keywords get embedded in the file itself.

Any suggestions or help would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Stephen
0 0
houdah
Hi!

Unfortunately Mac OS X and Spotlight don't really handle sidecar files.
Spotlight indexes both the image and the sidecar files individually and could report either one in the search results. Since the value you search for is only stored in the sidecar, that will show up in the results list.

I wonder if HoudahSpot could offer an option to locate the image file when you double-click on a XMP sidecar in results.
Wonder what HoudahSpot should offer if more than one image file matches the sidecar.

Best,
Pierre Bernard
Houdah Software s.à r.l.
Houdah Software s. à r. l.
https://www.houdah.com

HoudahGeo: One-stop photo geocoding
HoudahSpot: Advanced file search utility
Tembo: Easy and effective file search
0 0
Hybrid
Hi Pierre!