Clicky

LuMe96
Hi all,

I'm completely new to HoudahSpot and need some help.

First, could someone please explain the "contains fuzzy" logic ? Houdah defaults to this term for "text" and "any text" and shows a lot of results for documents as well as hyperlinks, emails a.s.o. that have nothing to do with the search criteria entered.
For example : Searching a "Text content" "contains fuzzy" pixmania finds PDF files not having pixmania anywhere in the document or the properties. Also, I can replace pixmania by pretty much anything (even weird stuff like yyxzxx), I still get exactly the same search results.

Second, to prevent this, I created a new template where I replaced the "contains fuzzy" by "contains word" which seems to works ok. I've saved that template and set it to be the default template.

However, when I start a BlitzSearch (with the default template or specifying my custom template) for, let's say, pixmania, I'm back with the same results not having much to do with the searched term. Having a look at the "query pane" I notice that :
- my search template is left empty, i.e. the term to be searched for is not inserted into my saved "What lines".
-and a new block of "What lines" is added with the search term, but than again with the "contains fuzzy" comparison.

I'm probably misunderstanding something here so I'd be grateful if someone could point me to the right direction because, as is, Houdah is pretty much of no use as it basically just lists the 1000 latest documents.

Thanks for your kind help.

Bye,
Lutz
0 0
houdah
Hi!

"Contains fuzzy" is the broadest way to match text. Searching for "pixmania" will match "pixmaniaOne" or "OnePixmania". 

If you search "Text content", this text should be found somewhere in the text body of the document. You may use HoudahSpot's "Text Preview" feature to see the actual text content of a document.