Clicky

jimglidewell
I am new to geotagging and GPS logging in general. I really want to do three things:

1) Capture logs in a useful and lossless (all logger data preserved) format for archiving and later use
2) Visualize track information
3) Geotag my photos

I know that HoudahGeo's specialty is #3, but quite honestly my main focus is #'s 1 and 2.

From my initial playing around with HoudahGeo, it does not look like it is really useful for #1, in that the exported tracks need to be associated with photos - I want to capture all of the tracks in their entirety - some tracks I will be capturing will have no photos associated with them at all.

#2 is not really supported either for tracks with no photos. As someone else mentioned, having tracks displayed on the map would be a great feature - and is one that the Windows software that came bundled with my Qstarz 1000xt does automatically.

#3 is HoudahGeo's forte, and from what I have seen it does a great job, and I really like the export options.

What is just a *bit* frustrating to me is that it looks like I need to use HoudahGPS for capture, Google Earth to see all the trails, and HoudahGeo to tag things, when the bundled Windows QTravel app seems like it does all these things (just not as attractively).

This also means I need to almost immediately write everything in two different formats - GPX for data archiving, and KMZ for visualizing using Google Earth.

I have been happy to find that there are Mac options for both device setup (BT747) and device data access and capture on the Mac. It just seems like I am missing something here.

Is it really not possible to use HoudahGeo to read and then write full tracks from the device without photos? And to view tracks within the application? It seems like almost all the pieces are in place to make HoudahGeo an all-in-one solution, yet it seems to be focused a bit too much on the geotagging workflow.